Apple Music’s Africa Now Radio with Nandi Madida this Friday with Young John

Cover Star Interview
Nigerian Afrobeats artist and producer Young Jonn joins Nandi Madida via FaceTime on Apple Music 1 to talk about his latest single, “Bahamas.” He also discusses his debut album, ‘Jiggy Forever,’ transitioning from producer to artist, how he manages to record wherever he is, and his plans to tour.

The Big 5
Nandi Madida shares the 5 hottest new African tracks of the moment. This week’s selection includes new tracks from Tiphe, Niphkeys & YKB, Shallipopi, Ruger & Bnxn, Blxckie, and Nonso Amadi, SjavasDaDeejay & Tumelo.za

Africa Rising
Swati rapper and producer GRIXXLY is the latest artist featured from Apple Music’s Africa Rising playlist, a campaign which shines a light on the next generation of African superstars, and this week’s show features his singles, “No Mistakes (feat. Amarii)” and “Musa WeNkhosi.”  Listen HERE.

Nandi’s Song of the Week
Each week, Nandi Madida chooses her favourite track from one of Apple Music’s African playlists. This week she spotlights South African house star DJ Kent, and his track, “Horns In The Sun (feat. Brenden Praise, Morda & Mo-T) [Thakzin Remix]”, from Apple Music’s Isgubhu playlist, showcasing the best African dance and electronic sounds. Listen HERE

Young Jonn tells Apple Music about His Transition from Producer To Artist
What really triggered that was back in 2017 when I lost my mum. I started spending so much time by myself. I wasn’t turning up for my studio sessions or being in the studio with artists like I used to. So I had so much music lying around because I was recording so much. This period was what really made me start putting out music, because I never really planned to.

Young Jonn tells Apple Music How He Feels Releasing His Debut Album, ‘Jiggy Forever’ 
I can’t lie, it feels good. It feels amazing. I feel blessed, regardless of what the outcome is. I never saw this coming, I never planned for this. I’m here today dropping my debut album and it feels so surreal. The love has been crazy since I started dropping my music. There’s been a lot that’s happened in my life and I feel so blessed, regardless of what anyone thinks.

Young Jonn tells Apple Music What Fans Can Expect from the Album
It’s big summer vibes. The right transition into summer time. Under the sun, by the beach. 

Young Jonn tells Apple Music about His Recording Process
When I was recording this album, I had no idea I was recording THE album. Probably because of my background as a producer, I’m always recording. I was doing a lot of travelling last year, doing a lot of shows outside my country. I have a studio setup with me, that I carry in my bag. So wherever I find myself, I’m recording. I had so much music around, so let’s pick what carries the emotions I want to be on the album. Recording didn’t seem like I was recording the album. I was just having fun and doing my thing, like I always do.

Young Jonn Tells Apple Music about his Upcoming Tours
I’m touring from May. Europe in May. Canada in June and America in September. I’m pretty much on the road throughout this year. I’m excited.

Tune in and listen to the full episode this Friday, April 12th at 9a Lagos/London / 10a Johannesburg/Paris / 1a LA / 4a NYC on Apple Music 1 at apple.co/_AfricaNow.

Leave a comment