Apple Music announce Pabi Cooper as the latest Isgubhu cover star

Apple Music today announced Amapiano singer, producer, dancer and entertainer, Pabi Cooper as the next Isgubhu cover star.



The release of her highly-anticipated debut album Cooperville (2022), available to stream on Apple Music in Spatial Audio, marks the next chapter in the Soshanguve-born Amapiano artist’s stratospheric career trajectory, following the platinum success of her first single “Isphithiphithi”.

To celebrate her feature Cooper has also created an exclusive Isgubhu playlist bred for the dance floor. “I feel honoured to take over Apple Music’s Isgubhu for the month. I have put together a selection of tracks which include some of my favourite artists and friends that I have worked with and that inspire me to keep moving. I hope you’re enjoying dancing to this playlist as much as I enjoyed putting it together.

Pabi Cooper

Taking over Isgubhu By… for this month is singer-songwriter Maliné Aura, who has just released a three-track dance EP called Maliné. “I’ve selected albums that include my all time favourite songs featuring some of my favourite musicians like Msaki, Samthing Soweto and Ami Faku who inspire my writing style. The most common thing about these albums is that the music is dance but yet soulful, from the melodies to drums. They have hugely influenced my sound in dance today.

Pabi Cooper
Pabi Cooper

Launched in early 2021, Isgubhu is the definitive home of African Dance and Electronic music on Apple Music and spotlights and elevates the work of African Electronic DJs, producers and creatives. Isgubhu, a Zulu word meaning beat and used to refer to a banging song, pays homage to an evergreen set of genres and the African artists who have played a pivotal role in shaping the Dance and Electronic scene across the world.



Isgubhu also houses a collection of playlists including Spotlight On – a focus on boutique labels like Soul Candi, House Afrika, Stay True Sounds and Uganda’s Hakuna Kulala & Nyege Nyege Tapes and Isgubhu Voices – a focus on the best Dance and Electronic tracks that feature vocals.

https://music.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewMultiRoom?fcId=1550884084

Leave a comment